top of page
  • Casey

Thrillers on Thrillers on Thrillers: Magical Readathon TBR

Haven't posted in a while.


Okay, that's an understatement - I haven't posted in almost a year.


Well, I'm back, and I've decided that my first post back will be about my Magical Readathon Spring Equinox TBR.


If you haven't heard of the Magical Readathon by G, I'm gonna link her video announcement for this round.


Last year, I completely failed the readathon. But I'm determined to try again. I've chosen the Mind Mender career, as I feel like my character would gravitate towards it due to her own mental health struggles. For the Spring Equinox, this means I have to read 5 books, which isn't too bad. So, lets get into the books I've chosen.


The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen


I've chosen this for Alchemy, the prompt being a book with a metal in the name, as our characters will be studying the principles of transmutation.


The novel follows Marissa and Matthew Bishop, a married couple who seem to have the perfect life - until Marissa cheats. In an attempt to save their marriage, they decide to start going to therapy. But Avery Chambers's methods are very unorthodox, so much so that she's already lost her license. Secrets and danger permeate the narrative, and the three main characters find themselves on a downhill spiral.


I'm reading the ebook for this one; I've actually already started it and I am obsessed!


Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth


For Demonology, we'll be studying Impersonators. The prompt for this is a book compared to your favourite, and the boarding school element in Plain Bad Heroines is vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, so I'm taking it.


In 1902, in The Brookhants School for Girls, Flo and Clara are found dead, with a copy of Mary MacLane's scandalous, bestselling memoir between their deceased bodies. The school is soon closed after more mysterious deaths occur. A century later, a film crew descends upon the school to start working on a controversial horror movie based on the events that took place at the school. The filming, however, is plagued by what seems to be the curse that took the students' lives years ago.


I am excited to get to this one, but I'm genuinely nervous about whether I'll like it. I think it will depend greatly on the writing style, but it seems like such a fun, immersive read, especially with the illustrations.


Take Me In by Sabine Durrant


Psionics & Divination will have us doing Cloud Study 101, with the prompt being a book with clouds on the cover or in the title, and this one fit the bill.


When Dave Jepsom saves their son, Tessa and Marcus know that they owe him the world. But his presence makes them feel uneasy, though they cannot seem to put their finger on why.


I don't know much about this book at all, but I picked this up almost a year ago so I should probably get to it soon!


All of This Is True by Lygia Day Peñaflor


For Restoration, oculi cures are on the syllabus. The prompt for this was to 'close your eyes, shuffle and point'. I put this one in the mix because I've been excited to read it for months, so hopefully I'll get round to it now.


This is a thriller surrounding a famous writer called Fatima Ro. I might be wrong, but the synopsis is giving me the impression that the story is told from multiple perspectives, which I tend to find pretty fun. Something happens in the characters' lives when they get close to Fatima, and it just sounds incredibly intriguing!


The One by John Marrs


The last subject I need to pass is Spells & Incantations. We'll be learning the magic missiles spell, so the prompt is a book target length of 389-415 pages.


Match Your DNA is a company which matches people up with their soulmates through their DNA. When 5 people get notified that they've been "Matched", you'd think this would be the beginning of their happily ever afters. But what happens when soulmates have secrets they'd rather keep hidden?


Another thriller - can you sense a theme? I am here for all of them!


I am super excited for most of these books, so hopefully I'll actually manage to get to them. Are you taking part in this month's round of the Magical Readathon? If you are, what do you plan on reading?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page