top of page
  • Casey

Staying in Malta

A few of months ago, when I got the urge to kick this blog back into action, I told myself that I wanted to vary the things I write about, and incorporate more personal posts instead of mainly focusing on books. So, this is my first attempt at a personal blog post.


If you don't know, I'm from a small archipelago of islands in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea - Malta. I've always had big dreams, and because of this I never really imagined myself living here for the rest of my life. In fact, for the past 3 years, my fiancé and I had been actively planning to move to London.


Why London? you might ask. I've always been drawn to England. The history, the literature, the architecture, and just the general vibe I get from it. I also work in publishing, and so London just seemed like the perfect city to settle down in.


That is, until recently.


The closer I got to actually making the move - I say 'I' because my fiancé had already moved to London earlier this year for work - the more little seeds of doubt started planting themselves in my head. For a while, I ignored them. I thought it was a normal part of the process, and I'm still sure it is.


But all of a sudden, I stopped and thought about all the doubts I was having. I was going to miss so many people. My family, my friends; this thought always brought me to tears. I was going to miss the familiarity of random people and places. And I was going to miss things I haven't even experienced yet - seeing my friends settle down and have families of their own, inviting friends and family over to our place on a whim...


And then I realised something, probably the most important thing. I wanted to move because I was searching for happiness, and I always thought Malta's too small to provide that. But true happiness doesn't come from job promotions or a house with a gable roof. As cheesy as it might sound, I'm at my happiest when I'm surrounded by people I love and who love me back. And the best place we can get that is here, in Malta - home.


It's been a couple of months now, and I've come to terms with our decision. I'm excited, even. We've started house hunting, and although it's proving to be extremely stressful, it's pretty nice. I never thought I'd be content with the prospect of staying here forever, but I am.


Casey

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page