top of page
  • Casey

2023 Favourites - Books, Music, and Movies I Loved Last Year

Updated: Jan 13

We're already over a week into 2024. Mad, isn't it? This year's gonna be a big one, on multiple fronts. But, for my first blog post of this year, I wanted to wrap up the last by sharing with you some of my 2023 faves in books, music, and movies.


Books


2023 was a bit of an unremarkable reading year for me. I read some great books, but none that I'd describe as all-time favourites. I've decided to highlight just two books, simply because these are the ones that stood out to me when I went through my list.


The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen


"The Golden Couple"

This one has some mixed reviews, but I loved the reading experience. If you don't take it too seriously, it's a really fun thriller that will have you flipping pages incessantly until you get to the end.


Vicious by V.E. Schwab


"Viscious"

I went into this one not sure what to expect, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Again, this one had me in a chokehold. The characters were so nuanced and real, and the writing style made it easy to fly through. Highly recommend if you're looking for a good villain origin story.


Music


2023 was a year of phases for me, music-wise, and there were a few stand out artists that have quickly become favourites.


Lewis Capaldi



After seeing him live in 2022, I was on a Lewis Capaldi high. I started the year in love with his first album, and so when I found out a new one was coming - Broken By Desire To Be Heavenly Sent - I couldn't wait. And let me tell you, he did not disappoint. I spent weeks listening to his new songs on repeat and basically tried to force my favourites down everyone's throats.


Mimi Webb



Then, in the spring, it was announced that Mimi Webb was going to be coming to Malta for Isle of MTV, thus ushering in phase 2. All her songs are bops, and watching her live made enduring the sweltering summer heat worth it (my fiancé would argue otherwise, but oh well).


Lauren Spencer-Smith



Later on in the year, Lauren Spencer-Smith came out with Mirrors. I absolutely love Lauren's voice and her lyrics, which always hit home in the best of ways. My faves from the album include 'Fantasy' and 'Bigger Person', though I personally wouldn't skip a single song on the album.


Måneskin



Lastly, and very much awaited, came Måneskin's album - RUSH! (ARE YOU COMING?). And while I initially became a Måneskin fan for their rock, their ballads have become all-time favourites for me. My #1 from the album has to be 'IF NOT FOR YOU'.


Movies


I'm not a huge movie watcher, but I've watched a few good ones this year. I think the following have to be my top 3 - and they were all highly anticipated releases for me.


The Little Mermaid (2023)



It's the nostalgia for me, man. Was it a perfect adaptation? No, but I really enjoyed it. Aaand it didn't hurt that Prince Eric was very fine.


One True Loves (2023)



I watched this pretty soon after reading the novel it's inspired by, and I really enjoyed it. I even loved the changes they made to the original story, which is definitely a first for me. It's not groundbreaking cinema, but it's a fun time, perfect if you're looking for something to have a laugh with that packs a punch at the same time.


Red, White & Royal Blue (2023)



Another book-to-screen adaptation, and another one I loved. Alex and Henry have my heart and I want multiple sequels, please and thank you.


And that's a wrap on my 2023 favourites. Let me know what you were absolutely loving throughout last year. I could do with some recs for the new year!


Casey

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page